Truth is, I knew he would break my heart. He’d done it before…

I knew him well enough. I knew he was an asshole. And I knew he hadn’t changed. I could see through all the lies he told me but somehow I loved him anyway. I still made myself believe the things he’d whisper to me when we were alone. A little bit of his heart was better than none. Maybe I’d always loved him, even after he broke my heart the first time. Maybe I still love him, after I let him break me again.

Whats worse than being in love with a person and not seeing who they really are, is being in love with a person knowing exactly who they are, knowing they’re no good, and still loving them, unable to stop. Even though you know you aren’t their only, at least you’re one.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. I am twice, thrice, a million times a fool, for you.

2 thoughts on “Twice a Fool

Tell me what you think

