We know each other so well, that we don’t even need words sometimes. We already know what the other will say.

I can hear him say things in my head. I know how he will say it; the words, the accent and the voice. I can hear it because I know him inside-out. I know what every look means. I know when I need to be quiet and just listen to his thoughts with him and when I need to scream to drown out the voice in his head. He knows me the same way.

But we pretend to be strangers. We pretend we don’t know each other at all. When we meet, by coincidence, an awkward smile is all we share. He no longer shows me his thoughts and I no longer tell him mine.

We know everything about each other, yet we don’t know why we went from being the best of friends to the best of strangers.

Tell me what you think

